Go to a festival

I always wanted to go to a festival but was never sure which was right for me. Glastonbury looked a bit too big, Download a bit too trendy and Bestival a bit too dancey. So when my bosses came back from Latitude raving about it I thought I should have a look.

Latitude

Well, it looked pretty good…music…comedy…cabaret…poetry…food…drink…it had it all, even multi-coloured sheep! So in 2011 a group of six of us from work packed up into a couple of cars and headed daaaaaaaannn saaaaaath (that’s down south in case you were wondering).

I had decided that I didn’t want to be faffing about putting a tent up with poles and all that so I bought a lovely little pop-up tent (little being the operative word). I was pretty chuffed with my tent when it took all of 2 minutes to put up. I just had to pump up my mattress and I was ready, beer in hand, mocking my friends who were still struggling with their accomodation!

The festival was fantastic. I loved that there was such a mix of things to see and it wasn’t a huge place with millions of people. I’m quite independent and I wanted to make the most of my experience so I made sure I saw everything I wanted to see, even if it meant going to things on my own. Thankfully I felt more than comfortable walking about on my lonesome, particularly when no one bothered to get out of bed on a rainy morning for a 10am live performance of Never Mind The Buzzcocks.

Yummy Yorky pud wrap

Yummy Yorky pud wrap

So, what were my highlights???

  • Seeing Jon Richardson in the comedy tent
  • Watching the Vaccines and dancing like a loon with my boss
  • Rocking out (on my own) to the Eels
  • Going on a secret mission in the forest with my bestie DW
  • Watching Frisky and Mannish (on the recommendation of another bestie, Lunlet)
  • Yorkshire pudding wraps (AMAZING!)
  • Sharing dipping marshmallows with DW
  • The view from the top of the helter skelter
  • Getting a bargain ex-Army jumper in the style of my beloved Grandad
  • Finding the best present I have ever bought my mum, her favourite victorian-style parasol/umbrella
  • Wearing wellies and squelching in the mud
Squelchy mud

Squelchy mud

What wasn’t so fantastic?

  • Realising that although my tent was a dream to put up and pack away, it definitely wasn’t a two-man tent and probably wasn’t designed for a 5’11” person to sleep in for 4 nights
  • The achey legs I got because I purposely walked through all of the muddiest bits just because squelching in mud is fun
  • The 7+ hour drives there and back, particulary the way home when everyone else fell asleep
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – a total letdown
  • Not being able to find anywhere that does the amazing yorkshire pudding wraps (the search continues)
The view from the helter skelter

The view from the helter skelter

I can thoroughly recommend Latitude as a festival to go to, I think it’s particularly good for a festival newbie as it is a lovely size and there is so much going on. I had an amazing time, despite having chronic tonsillitis and I would definitely go back again if the line up was good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Go to a festival

  1. Pingback: Saturday Summary | Bonjour, Blogger!

Leave a comment